LA QUINTA HIGH SCHOOL

INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC DEPARTMENT

 

The La Quinta High School Instrumental Music Department has a tradition of excellence. Our goal is giving our best at every performance.  The hours of hard work, the dedication of the staff and students should be evident in everything we do.  Thank you to all of you who support us in this cause.  We want to make your visit to this website informative and enjoyable.  This site belongs to the Parents and Boosters. Feel free to send us an email with suggestions or changes.

UPCOMING DATES/EVENTS:

Welcome the La Quinta High School Music Department website. This site is used to provide information on Music Department events to parents, members, and boosters, and does not represent the Garden Grove Unified School District, its board, administrators, faculty, or students. The La Quinta High School Music Department, or any other members are not responsible for any misuse of this website. If you submit any photos, videos, or other data to our site, we reserve the right to edit them in any way. All trade marks, symbols, music, photos, and icons belong to their respective owners.

NEWS:

CURRENT FUNDRAISERS

Scrip

click to view:

monthly/detailed calendar

NEXT FRIENDS OF MUSIC (FOM) MEETING

 

Wednesday, June 10, 2015


7pm to about 8pm

Room 408 (Choir Room)

Come to our monthly meetings and find out the latest news on Music Department activities.

Please help & download the app "communities for cause" and use it whenever you make a purchase at a place that's participating in this! Basically, you take a picture of your receipt on this app and some of the money goes to the La Quinta music department, depending on the percentage they're giving to us. Just register and put down "La Quinta HS friends of music" You will find a list of places you can go to on the app. Anything would help, thank you!

COMMUNITIES FOR CAUSE (CFC)

Marie Callender’s Pie Vouchers - $10

MARCH MUSIC MADNESS

  1. Fri., May 1 - Spring Play - 3pm - Theater; and 7pm - Theater

  2. Sat., May 2 - Spring Play - 7pm - Theater


  1. Mon., May 4 - AP Psychology - 12:30pm; AP Chemistry & Environmental Science - 3pm

  2. Tues., May 5 -

  3. Wed., May 6 - AP English Lit & Comp - 8am; AP Physics 1 - 12:30pm; Drumline Clinic - 3pm to 6pm

  4. Thurs., May 7 - AP Spanish Language & Computer Science - 3pm

  5. Fri., May 8 - AP US History & AP Studio Art (portfolios due) - 8am

  6. SUNDAY, May 10 - Tinkerbell Half Marathon - call time 4:15am (at LQ) to about 12pm (return back to LQ)


  1. Mon., May 11 - AP Biology and Music Theory - 8am; AP Physics C - 12:30pm

  2. Tues., May 12 - AP US Government and Politics - 8am; AP French Language - 12:30pm; FOM Mtg. - 7pm

  3. Wed., May 13 - AP English Language - 8am; AP Statistics - 12:30pm; Drumline Clinic - 3pm to 6pm

  4. Thurs., May 14 - AP World History - 8am; AP Macroeconomics - 12:30pm

  5. Fri., May 15 - Prom

  6. Sun., May 17 - Drumline Banquet


  1. Mon., May 18 - Block Schedule (0, 1, 3, and 5); Leadership/Conducting Workshop - 3pm to 4:30pm

  2. Tues., May 19 - Block Schedule (0, 2, 4, and 6); AO/SO Spaghetti Dinner/Spring Concert - Dinner begins at 6pm, Concert begins at 7pm (call time 6:30pm; volunteers to help setup at 4pm)

  3. Wed., May 20 - Late Start; Drumline Clinic - 3pm to 6pm; Leadership/Conducting Workshop - 3pm to 4:30pm; Choir Concert - 7pm

  4. Thurs., May 21 - Block Schedule (0, 1, 3, and 5); Choir Concert - 7pm

  5. Fri., May 22 - Block Schedule (0, 2, 4, and 6); Leadership/Conducting Workshop - 3pm to 4:30pm

  6. Sat., May 23 - MB: Strawberry Festival Parade - 10am (call time 8am)


  1. Mon., May 25 - NO SCHOOL (Memorial Day)

  2. Tues., May 26 - Block Schedule (0, 1, 3, and 5); Leadership/Conducting Workshop - 3pm to 4:30pm; Color Guard Clinics/Audition - 3pm to 4:30pm

  3. Wed., May 27 - Block Schedule (0, 2, 4, and 6); Color Guard Clinics/Audition - 3pm to 4:30pm; Drumline Clinic - 3pm to 6pm; Drum Major Conducting Auditions - 3pm to 5pm; Senior Awards Night - 6pm

  4. Thurs., May 28 - Block Schedule (0, 1, 3, and 5); Drum Major Conducting Auditions - 1st period; Color Guard Clinics/Audition - 3pm to 4:30pm; MB Leadership Interviews - 3pm to 8pm

  5. Fri., May 29 - Block Schedule (0, 2, 4, and 6); Color Guard Clinics/Audition - 3pm to 5pm

  1. Mon., June 1 - Block Schedule (0, 1, 3, and 5); MB Leadership Interviews - 5pm to 7pm

  2. Tues., June 2 - Block Schedule (0, 2, 4, and 6); Band Spring Concert - 6pm - Senior Stage (call time 5:30pm; volunteers to help setup at 4pm)

  3. Wed., June 3 - Drumline Clinic - 3pm to 6pm

  4. Thurs., June 4 - Aloha Assembly; Instrumental Music Banquet - 6:30pm to 10pm - OC Mining Company

  5. Fri., June 5 - MB Leader Meeting - 3pm; Aloha Dance

  1. Mon., June 8 - MB: MANDATORY Member/Parent Meeting - 7pm to 9pm - Lyceum

  2. Tues., June 9 - Advanced Orchestra Auditions

  3. Wed., June 10 - LATE START DAY; Advanced Orchestra Auditions; FOM Mtg. - 7pm

  4. Thurs., June 11 - Senior Finals (0, 4, 5, 6)

  5. Fri., June 12 - Senior Finals (0, 1, 2, 3); Senior BBQ/Cap & Gown Distribution

  1. Mon., June 15 - Graduation Rehearsal/Senior Lunch

  2. Tues., June 16 - MINIMUM DAY/Final Exams (0, 1, 2, 3); Graduation - 6pm (call time 3:30pm) - Bolsa Grande HS Stadium

  3. Wed., June 17 - MINIMUM DAY/Final Exams (0, 6, 5, 4); School Ends!!

  4. Thurs., June 18 -

  5. Fri., June 19 -

MAY 2015

JUNE 2015

2015 - 2016 ADVANCED ORCHESTA AUDITIONS

Tuesday, June 9, 2015 and

Wednesday, June 10, 2015

(current orchestra students will audition during respective class period - starting Tues., May 26th)


All incoming 9th, 10th, 11th, and 12th graders are welcome!!


Come prepared with:

Application, Scales, Solo/Orchestral Excerpts


*To schedule an audition, contact:

 Mr. Richie Sebastian (rsebastian@ggusd.us)*

for more information, click/view:

Orchestra Page

2015 - 2016 COLOR GUARD CLINICS

Tuesday - Friday, May 26, 2015 - May 29, 2015

3pm to 4:30pm (5pm on Friday)


All incoming 9th, 10th, 11th, and 12th graders are welcome!!

2015 - 2016 NEW/RETURNING MARCHING BAND MEMBER AND FAMILY MEETING

Monday, June 8, 2015

7pm to 9pm - Lyceum


Come find out what it takes to be a part of our family!!